The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: A review

Fiftieth book reviewed as part of the 130 Challenge.

The-Picture-Of-Dorian-Gray CoverOh! Is there anything even close to an Oscar Wilde novel? If there is something that is horrifying and disgusting, yet somehow most reassuring and beautiful, this is it. A novel that shook up the world into which it was born. So ahead of its times! So exquisitely written with such a rich language and splendid narrative! I honestly don’t find myself capable of reviewing such a book.

I write this only because I had decided that I must review all the books that I read this year. I read this book as a teenager and I was scarred by what it contained. I couldn’t complete it and I shuddered at the very thought of opening it again, but I was drawn to it again and again, until finally, this year I could resist it no longer.

I knew how the story goes and I was prepared for a dive into the starkest examination of human depravity, but even so, I was overwhelmed. I do not think one should even try to expect something from this novel, one should just surrender to it.

I must stop now before people think that I lavish too much praise and judge the book even before reading it. If you are wondering about it, let me just make it amply clear – This is a magnum opus. This is a masterpiece. This. is. it.

P.S. I tried hard to narrow down the best quotes from the book, but it was simply too difficult a task. By page 3 of the novel, I had already collected 10 quotes that I just couldn’t not add to my collection. So, I just gave up. WikiQuote does a really good job of collecting all the good quotes from the book.

The-Picture-Of-Dorian-Gray fb cover

You will always be fond of me. I represent to you all the sins you have never had the courage to commit

5 comments

  1. Have yet to read this but you’ve convinced me to give it a shot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’ll read it and write a better review than I have :) Happy New Year to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re too kind! And here’s wishing you a great 2015 and to more books :)

        Like

  2. I once tried to do that quote exercise. It was impossible. My copy has innumerable pencilled remarks and underlined text to make it seem like a book I had to “study” in school!

    It does require a study. You’re right. One has to surrender to it. I can re read this again.

    Do I dare?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t mind reading this with you again, if you need some encouragement like that.

      Like

Have your say..

