A woman of no importance by Oscar Wilde: A review

Twenty-sixth book reviewed as part of the 130 Challenge.

Well of course, Oscar Wilde doesn’t need a stamp of approval. But I feel compelled to talk about his work because I don’t want anyone to miss the pleasure of reading him. And the best thing is that most of his work is available on project Gutenberg.

Cover of A Woman of No ImportanceThe first book by him that I read, was The Picture of Dorian Gray. The book shook me so much that I couldn’t complete it. It was real and it changed my perspective on life. I’m planning to complete it this year.

Now, on to ‘A woman of no importance’. I know that technically, it’s not a book. And I tried to get an audio book of people voice-acting it. But, I didn’t like it that much, so I decided to read it. This was the first time I have ever read a play by Oscar Wilde and it was the most amazing experience ever! Every dialogue was superb. So much thought has been put into this short and simple script that you can read it time and again and be amazed by the depth of writing. Wilde’s self-contradictory style of philosophizing is a delight to read.

I don’t think there’s anyone who has a better grasp on the complicated nature of human relationships than Oscar Wilde. He uses that to make this play about the relationships so much more profound!

I’ll just stop at that because I’m not qualified to say more about the play than that it is a beautifully written story, replete with brilliant aphorisms. See for yourself.

Since it’s such a short play, you can even read it online. The University of Adelaide has a beautiful online version that I recommend.

 

8 comments

  1. I remember reading his An Ideal Husband a few years ago. I do not remember much of the play now but I remember liking it. However, The Picture of Dorian Gray disappointed me, probably because I was expecting a lot from an Oscar Wilde novel, which also happens to be his sole work in that category. I found it boring. The narrative is laborious, language is too literary and plot moves ahead so slowly. Thankfully, Lord Henry’s aphorisms and the character of Duchess of Monmouth provided some respite.

    I have his The Importance of Being Earnest on my Kindle. Hope to read it soon.

    Like

    1. I’m reading The Importance of Being Earnest next. I found The picture of Dorian Gray to be scary. But then, I read it as a Teenager.

      Like

      1. Yeah, many people on Goodreads say they found it scary, even Neil Gaiman’s novella Coraline which I guess you have read. But when we consume so much violence and other scariness through visual media that books look so pale (in intensity) in their comparison.

        Like

        1. It’s not scary in that way. It’s very eerie. Eerily accurate predictions actually. I’ll be writing a review soon. Watch out for that.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. The eerie kind of scary is usually the best kind of scary. Thanks for the suggestion. I am pretty ignorant when it comes to mid/early 20th century literature, so this is a great starting point.

            Like

            1. Glad to be of service and happy to see you back in the blogosphere!

              Like

              1. Aah yes. I was on quite a banwaas there. Can’t help it man. There’s just so much content deluge on the internet (I spend about 3-4 hours daily reading extensive reports and news around the world). I am more or less content on consuming the content. The prospect of creating new content isn’t something that on the balance of it would give me much more content. Too many puns there. But I think you get my drift. But I am happy for you that you are firstly sticking with your 130 challenge goal and secondly you are blogging regularly. It’s a good thing. Regularity and Discipline is something I could use.

                Like

                1. I would say that reading reports and news for 3-4 hours daily is quite an exercise in regularity and discipline. Yet, I understand what you mean.

                  I haven’t really stuck to the challenge. As you can see, I’m lagging far behind and there’s very little possibility now that I will be able to complete the challenge. But this has taught me that procrastination affects you in more ways than one, so that’s something I take away from this experience.

                  Anyway, welcome back. And home to see you around.

                  Like

Have your say..

