Your love

I’m young and foolish,
You’re young and wise.
I’m hungry for your love,
And some French fries.

Which shall I have first?
Well, of course, the potatoes!
But if you insist on it,
Your love, first! Who knows?

But your love has other plans.
It shall consume me, before I can.
Yet, to eat it, is to be eaten..
Morsel by morsel, over a lifespan.

“What is it like to be eaten?”
You quietly ask me to explain.
There’s a smirk at the end of your mouth,
And your eyes look insane.

I begin to tell you how,
Love consumes a man.
And then, stop to consider,
If all along, that, was your plan.

For me to write a ballad,
As your love slowly ate
My heart, my body, my soul..
And thus, joined us in our fate.

And damned us to an eternity,
Together under the skies.
As I grow old and remain foolish
And you munch on French Fries.

11 comments

  1. Eeeeeevvvvviiiiiiiillll! :D Ddddeeeeaaaaddddllllllyyyyy! :D

    But really nice.. Had a smile throughout. And now grinning over your choice of words! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha… And I thought it was just me. :P

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Explain ‘Eeeeeevvvvviiiiiiiillll! :D Ddddeeeeaaaaddddllllllyyyyy! :D’

      Like

      1. Evil and deadly need an explanation? :-o

        Like

        1. I mean, why was it evil? How was it deadly? (just praise me)

          Like

  2. Wow.. This was cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sandhya! :-)

      Like

  3. Genius! I like that this poem has layers and it comes to a neat close in the end.

    I love the line : Morsel by morsel, over a lifespan.

    Like

    1. How does it feel to be eaten?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So much feels! But what a lovely poem! Enjoyed every bit of it :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! :D

      Like

Have your say..

