What frenzy is this?

Poem by Zarif Ahmed ‘Zarif’, Srinagar, Kashmir

From the documentary; Jashne Azaadi by Sanjay Kak

Transcript and translation:

Daem phuit chi gaemits myaen nazar
yoot matsar kyah?
mei rov labith lawl shahar
yoot matsar kyah?

My gaze has been silenced
What frenzy is this?
I lost the city of love I’d found,
What frenzy is this?

Poozai karaan aes gaemits vaens me tsayen
aeyov ti mei ma vuch na sahar
yoot matsar kyah?

I worshipped shadows all my life
Did I alone miss
the arrival of the dawn
What frenzy is this?

Mei khoon mailith sheesha patyan aaene baneyvim
aeseena panin paana khabar
yoot matsar kyah?

I smeared the glass with blood
to make mirrors
My image – a stranger
What frenzy is this?

Mei togh na parun kya chu leekhit posh deewaran
kael gaem tavay laen ashar
yoot matsar kyah?

I couldn’t read
the writing on floral walls
my lines of fate turned mute
What frenzy is this?

Sukrath me ahsaan karith gav ne, galath cha?
tyem myan hisukh chav na zahar
yoot matsar kyah?

Socrates did me no favour in leaving
I shouldn’t be saying this, but
He didn’t drink my share of poison
What frenzy is this?

Mei rov labith lawl shahar
yoot matsar kyah?
daem phuit chi gaemits myaen nazar
yoot matsar kyah?

I’ve lost the city of love I’d found,
What frenzy is this
My gaze has been silenced
What frenzy is this?

3 comments

  1. amarllyis · · Reply

    I didn’t see the video since you said it was graphic. I had read this on my phone when you posted. the fact that I come back and comment means it is kickass.

    What a wonderful poem. When I read things like these, I wonder how did I not write this.

    Thanks for sharing. :)

    Like

    1. Mildly graphic video hai (Kashmir hai na. Death is everywhere). You should watch it. He narrates brilliantly!

      Poem toh is awesome only! There’s another Kashmiri Poem that I will share later. That one is as good as this.

      As for not being able to write like this, I feel that great art is born out of great tragedies or really intense emotions (extreme love on the opposite end of the spectrum, perhaps). I don’t think we’ve experienced that yet. But we are young and there’s still time (I hope). We will have our tragedy one day and then we’ll write about it.

      Thanks for commenting. I wonder how so many people who have read this poem were not moved enough by it to even share a couple of words. I share not for views, but for discussion. Sigh. I expect too much sometimes.

      Like

    2. I removed that warning. It’s not that bad, I guess. People should watch him narrate yaar. It’s like honey for the ears.

      Like

Have your say..

