Take time to read

Time, it sets a deadly pace.
Runs your life just like a race.
Beware! It has numbered your days.
No more you’ll get, should you beg or plead.

How many lives can you lead anyway?
‘Just one, of course!’ You seem to say.
Then I ask of you, ‘Why delay?
Take some time to read!’

Here’s what happens when you read a book –
In one of them, you can be Captain Cook!
Storm the seas with patched eye and a hook..
And make legends with every deed.

Or you could be an Emperor, if you like.
Or a silent assassin with a deadly strike!
A detective who is named Edward Von Dyk,
Or a romantic with a heart to bleed.

So live a thousand lives, in just this one.
Pick yet another as the thousandth is done.
Grab and read every book under the sun!
For there is no shame in this greed.
Take some to read.

We had a bookmark contest in office. So I did what I do best; I wrote a poem for the topic. While writing this, I had my lovely bookhads on my mind.

I decorated the bookmark saying ‘Take time to read’ and put this in a fold with an arrow saying ‘Open to know why’. I’ll post pictures if someone asks in the comments :)

Someone did ask, so here are the pictures:

The front part of the bookmark

The front part of the bookmark

The other side of the bookmark

The other side of the bookmark

The central part where the poem is written

The central part where the poem is written

14 comments

  1. Anish Vyavahare · · Reply

    If someone asks in the comments? How vain!

    Like

    1. Yes, it does look like that in hindsight :P

      But actually I didn’t want to clutter the post with pictures, so I thought if someone says ‘Pics or it didn’t happen’ in the comments, I’ll oblige them.

      But vain hi sahi :D

      Like

    2. Shall I post this to the Maxmeet blog?

      Like

      1. Anish Vyavahare · · Reply

        Mm… Ideally not. That is poems read out in PT blog. In which case, you should send the poems you have read. You haven’t sent all of them.

        Like

        1. Yeah. That’s what I thought. Okay.

          Like

  2. Wow. Good stuff. I like the positivity!

    And yes, I’d like to see the bookmark

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ll definitely post the pictures ;)

      Like

  3. Fantastic poem dude, brimming with a lighthearted playful tone! :)

    Like

    1. Thank you :)

      Like

  4. Hey Aamil…came across your blog and wow I really like the bookmark with the poem.. very cool! :)

    Like

    1. Thank you :)

      Like

  5. Serendipity · · Reply

    Took my time to read! :) Good one Aamil, both the poem n the bookmark.

    Like

    1. Thank you :)

      Like

  6. […] in our library and I have been participating in them. That is why dear reader, you saw that poem ‘Take time to read’ and now, you are seeing this […]

    Like

Have your say..

